Before there was an island, two sandbars existed that were used by indigenous peoples for fishing and gatherings.
Because of the newly discovered False Creek area, new affordable land with access to water for industry was in demand. The CPR, government and businessmen fought over the sandbars and water rights.
The sandbars eventually transferred to the National Harbour Commission. About 40 acres of land was created and businesses and factories moved into the area.
There were 1200 people employed by 40 industrial companies, which manufactured and supplied fibre, rope, chain, and materials for logging and shipping.
There was a decline in industry in the Great Depression Years.
During WWII, the island became resourceful again and industries switched to manufacturing defense equipment, employing women for the first time. It was during the war years that the name Granville Island started to be used.
With the end of WW2, the island became lifeless with abandoned warehouses, and the island had become so run down that it was a hazard to the environment.
The reuse of buildings have created a vibrant place that welcomes over 12 million visitors a year, and employs over 3,000 people.
Formerly industrial buildings were replaced with markets, studios, restaurants, community groups and more.
The ownership of Granville Island transferred from the National Harbours Board to the Canadian Housing and Mortgage Corporation so the CHMC could work on the redevelopment of the island.
Purchaes the 800,000 sq-mile Louisiana Territory from French Emperor
Inaugurated into a second term in the presidency
Finishes his second term as president and heads back to Monticello
(Mar 4, 1809)
(Mar 4, 1805)
(Apr 2, 1803)
Struggling under his increasing debts, sells his 6000-volume library to Congress for $24k
(July 5, 1826)
Dies at his home Monticello 50 years after the Declaration was approved